Faculty

The core faculty members of the Alwaleed Islamic Studies Program (AISP) come from academic departments and centers from across Harvard University. They are deeply involved with AISP activities, lecture widely and teach courses focused on the wider Islamic world. Some serve as members of AISP’s Steering Committee.

In addition to the core faculty, there are dozens of other faculty who teach and do research in subjects related to the global Islamic world from disciplines as diverse as arts & architecture and global health. While they are not as deeply rooted in the Program’s activities, these scholars play an integral role in promoting a broad, interdisciplinary understanding of Muslim societies and cultures. In an ongoing effort to deepen scholarly understanding of global and transnational Islam, and to better educate the public about Muslim cultures and societies, our faculty lecture widely and often in both academic and public settings.

 

Dalia Abo-Haggar

Dalia Abo-Haggar - Arabic Preceptor

Center for Middle Eastern Studies
38 Kirkland Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-496-9273
dabohaggar@fas.harvard.edu
Amir Ahmed

Amr Ahmed - Lecturer

Department of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations
6 Divinity Avenue #309
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-495-4654
amrahmed@fas.harvard.edu
Ahmed_Asad

Asad Ali Ahmed - Associate Professor

Department of Anthropology
21 Divinity Avenue
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-496-5690
aaahmed@fas.harvard.edu
Ahmed_Leila

Leila Ahmed - Victor S. Thomas Professor of Divinity

45 Francis Avenue
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-496-5316
lahmed@hds.harvard.edu
Sami Alkyam

Sami Mohmoud Alkyam - Arabic Preceptor

38 Kirkland Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-495-7809
alkyam@fas.harvard.edu
alt asani

Ali Asani - Professor of Indo-Muslim and Islamic Religion and Cultures

12 Quincy Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-495-5755
aliasani@fas.harvard.edu
barmada

Nour Barmada - Arabic Preceptor

Center for Middle Eastern Studies
38 Kirkland Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-496-8715
barmadaabida@fas.harvard.edu
soha bayoumi

Soha Bayoumi - Lecturer on the History of Science

Science Center
1 Oxford Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-496-5213
sbayoumi@fas.harvard.edu
Bonikowski_Bart

Bart Bonikowski - Assistant Professor of Sociology

33 Kirkland Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-496-5029
bonikowski@fas.harvard.edu
Bozdogan

Sibel Bozdoğan - Lecturer in Urban Planning and Design

Gund Hall
48 Quincy Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-496-1069
sbozdoga@gsd.harvard.edu
Burns_Nicolas

R. Nicholas Burns - The Sultan of Oman Professor of International Relations, Kennedy School of Government

John F. Kennedy School of Government
79 JFK Street
Cambridge, MA, 02138

617-495-2495
nicholas_burns@hks.harvard.edu
Caffrey_Kevin

Kevin Caffrey - Lecturer on Social Studies

59 Shepard Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-496-1750
kcaffrey@fas.harvard.edu
Caton_Steve

Steve Caton - Khalid Bin Abdullah Bin Abdulrahman Al Saud Professor of Contemporary Arab Studies

Tozzer Anthropology Building
21 Divinity Avenue
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-495-1886
caton@wjh.harvard.edu
Dr. Jocelyne Cesari

Jocelyne Cesari - Director of Islam in the West Program

8 Story Street
1st Floor
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-495-8787
jcesari@fas.harvard.edu
Sheida Dayani

Sheida Dayani - Preceptor in Persian

Center for Middle Eastern Studies
38 Kirkland Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-495-4055
dayani@fas.harvard.edu
delacy

Richard Delacy - Urdu and Hindi Preceptor

1 Bow Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-496-4749
rdelacy@fas.harvard.edu
eck

Diana L. Eck - Professor of Comparative Religion and Indian Studies; Fredric Wertham Professor of Law and Psychiatry in Society in the Faculty of Arts and Sciences

12 Quincy Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-493-1600
dianaeck@fas.harvard.edu
Elliott_Mark

Mark Elliott - Mark Schwartz Professor of Chinese and Inner Asian History; Vice Porvost for International Affairs at Harvard University

2 Divinity Avenue
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-496-5343
elliott3@fas.harvard.edu
El-Rouayheb_Khaled

Khaled El-Rouayheb - James Richard Jewett Professor of Arabic and of Islamic Intellectual History - ON LEAVE 2015-2016

Semitic Museum
6 Divinity Avenue
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-495-1681
kel@fas.harvard.edu
Feldman_Noah

Noah Feldman - Felix Frankfurter Professor of Law

Hauser Hall
Harvard Law School
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-495-9140
swhalen@law.harvard.edu
Giron-Negron_Luis

Luis M. Girón-Negrón - Professor of Romance Languages and Literatures and of Comparative Literature

12-16 Quincy Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-495-2567
giron@fas.harvard.edu
Good_Byron

Byron Good - Professor of Medical Anthropology

641 Huntington Avenue
Boston, MA 02115

617-432-2612
byron_good@hms.harvard.edu
Mary-Jo Delvecchio Good

Mary-Jo DelVecchio Good - Professor of Social Medicine

Global Health and Social Medicine, Harvard Medical School
643 Huntington Avenue
No. 304
Boston, MA 02115

617-432-2557
maryjo_good@hms.harvard.edu
Graham_William

William A. Graham - Harvard University Distinguished Service Professor; Murray A. Albertson Professor of Middle Eastern Studies; Director, Prince Alwaleed Islamic Studies Program at Harvard University

Committee on the Study of Religion
Barker Center
12 Quincy Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-496-2846
wgraham@fas.harvard.edu
Granara_William

William Granara - Professor of the Practice of Arabic on the Gordon Gray Endowment; Director of Modern Language Programs, and Director of the Center for Middle Eastern Studies

38 Kirkland Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-496-9065
granara@fas.harvard.edu
Hijazi_Feryal

Feryal Hijazi - Arabic Preceptor

38 Kirkland Street
Cambridge MA 02138

617-495-8127
fhijazi@fas.harvard.edu
Johansen_Baber

Baber Johansen - Professor of Islamic Religious Studies

45 Francis Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-495-1014
bjohansen@hds.harvard.edu
Kafadar_Cemal

Cemal Kafadar - Vehbi Koç Professor of Turkish Studies

35 Quincy Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-496-5389
kafadar@fas.harvard.edu
Ousmane Kane

Ousmane Oumar Kane - Prince Alwaleed Bin Talal Professor in Contemporary Islamic Religion & Society

45 Francis Avenue
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-496-8508
okane@hds.harvard.edu
Keshavjee_Salmaan

Salmaan Keshavjee - Associate Professor of Global Health and Social Medicine

310 Longfellow Hall
13 Appian Way
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-432-3215
Salmaan_Keshavjee@hms.harvard.edu

Shabnam Syed Khan - Visiting Professor of Education

Longfellow Hall
13 Appian Way
Cambridge MA 02138

617.495.3978
shabnam_khan@gse.harvard.edu
Khwaja_Asim

Asim Khwaja - Professor of International Finance and Development; Faculty Chair of the MPA/ID Program

John F. Kennedy School of Government
Mailbox 46
79 JFK Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-384-7790
asim_ijaz_khwaja@harvard.edu
Korica-Sullivan_Nevenka

Nevenka Korica-Sullivan - Modern Arabic Preceptor

38 Kirkland St.
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-495-5872
nevenkakorica@fas.harvard.edu
Justine Landau

Justine Landau - Assistant Professor of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations

Semitic Museum #309
6 Divinity Avenue
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-495-4654
jlandau@fas.harvard.edu
Leafgren_Luke

Luke A. Leafgren - Lecturer on Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations

10 Cowperthwaite Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-495-4829
leafgren@fas.harvard.edu
hisham mahmoud

Hisham Mahmoud - Arabic Preceptor

Center for Middle Eastern Studies
38 Kirkland Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-495-0974
hisham_mahmoud@harvard.edu
martin_terry

Terry Martin - George F. Baker III Professor of Russian Studies; Director of the Davis Center for Russian and Eurasian Studies

1730 Cambridge Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-495-9895
martin11@fas.harvard.edu
Masoud_Tarek

Tarek Masoud - Associate Professor of Public Policy

John F. Kennedy School of Government
Mailbox 74
79 JFK St.
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-496-3036
maryanne_baumgartner@harvard.edu
Mehrotra

Rahul Mehrotra - Professor of Urban Design and Planning

Gund Hall
48 Quincy Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-496-2080
mehrotra@gsd.harvard.edu
Payam Mohseni

Payam Mohseni - Visiting Assistant Professor of Government

17 Sumner Road #201
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-496-1077
pmohseni@gov.harvard.edu
Mohsen Mostafavi

Mohsen Mostafavi - Dean of the Harvard Graduate School of Design

Gund Hall
48 Quincy Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-495-4364
mohsen_mostafavi@gsd.harvard.edu
Prof. Mottahedeh

Roy Mottahedeh - Gurney Professor of Islamic History

38 Kirkland Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-498-1000
mottahed@fas.harvard.edu
John Mugane

John Mugane - Professor of the Practice of African Languages and Cultures and Director of the African Language Program

Barker Center
12 Quincy St. Rm. 244
Cambridge, MA 02138

(617) 496-4995
mugane@fas.harvard.edu
Najmabadi_Afsaneh

Afsaneh Najmabadi - Professor of History and Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies ON LEAVE 2014-2015

5 Harvard Yard
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-496-7460
najmabad@fas.harvard.edu
Gulru

Gülru Necipoğlu-Kafadar - Aga Khan Professor of Islamic Art

485 Broadway
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-495-2355
agakhan@fas.harvard.edu
Olupona_Jacob

Jacob K. Olupona - Professor of African Religious Traditions

42 Francis Avenue
Cambridge, MA 02138

617.495.4486
olupona@fas.harvard.edu
Owen_Roger

E. Roger Owen - A.J. Meyer Professor of Middle East History

Center for Middle Eastern Studies
Room 210
38 Kirkland Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-495-2817
eowen@fas.harvard.edu
Prevelakis_Nicolas

Nicolas Prevelakis - Assistant Director of Curricular Development at the Center for Hellenic Studies; Lecturer on Social Studies

FAS Social Studies
Hilles Library
59 Shepard Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-495-5152
prevelak@fas.harvard.edu
Michael Puett

Michael Puett - Walter C. Klein Professor of Chinese History; Harvard College Professor; Chair of the Committee on the Study of Religion ON LEAVE 2015-2016

The Department of East Asian Languages and Civilizations
2 Divinity Avenue
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-495-8360
puett@fas.harvard.edu
Intisar Rabb

Intisar Rabb - Professor of Law; Co-Director of the Islamic Legal Studies Program ON LEAVE 2015-2016 ACADEMIC YEAR

Ragab_Ahmed

Ahmed Ragab - Richard T. Watson Assistant Professor of Science and Religion

42 Francis Avenue
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-496-9364
ahmed_ragab@harvard.edu
Roxburgh_David

David J. Roxburgh - Prince Alwaleed Bin Talal Professor of Islamic Art History

485 Broadway
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-496-1056
roxburgh@fas.harvard.edu
Simons_Thomas

Thomas W. Simons, Jr. - Visiting Scholar at the Davis Center for Russian and Eurasian Studies

1730 Cambridge Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-495-9302
tsimons@fas.harvard.edu
Skjaervo_Oktor

P. Oktor Skjaervo - Aga Khan Professor of Iranian (EMERITUS)

Semitic Museum
6 Divinity Avenue
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-496-5756
skjaervo@fas.harvard.edu
Taskomur_Himmet

Himmet Taskomur - Ottoman and Modern Turkish Senior Preceptor

Center for Middle Eastern Studies
38 Kirkland Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

617.496.8568
taskomur@fas.harvard.edu
Wolf_Richard

Richard Wolf - Professor of Music and South Asian Studies

Loeb Music Building
Harvard University
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-495-2791
rwolf@fas.harvard.edu
Zeghal_Malika

Malika Zeghal - Prince Alwaleed Bin Talal Professor in Contemporary Islamic Thought and Life

12 Quincy Street
Cambridge, MA 02138

617-384-8432
mzeghal@fas.harvard.edu
porno, redtube